Flavors of Spring ~ Catskill style

My brisket spent 24 hours swimming in flavor and marinating to perfection. I browned it nicely on each side and added chunks of carrot, celery, and onion. Now you can use the marinade but in this case I chose not to.  Why? It was predominately red wine and frankly I didn’t want purple veggies! LOL

So I covered the meat and veggies with beef broth and added a couple of bay leaves. Covered the Dutch oven and put the whole shebang in a 250 oven this morning about 10:30. Dinner is at 5:30. About halfway I will check it and flip the meat.

WIth veggies      image (2)

I also boiled potatoes to make my smash-roasted potatoes … sort of a twice baked idea. I boil the potatoes and cut a slit in the top of each. On a well-greased pan, I place the potatoes, take a potato masher and crush the top. Then I sprinkle with oil, salt, pepper, and rosemary (or your flavor of choice). They go back in the oven to be roasted in a very hot 450 degree oven for 20-25 minutes. Watch them so they don’t burn though!!

I also prepared lentils to make later. We will talk about them tomorrow and I will post pictures of all the yummy foods.

It is not a lovely day today…rainy, dreary, and generally yuck! So a warm comfort food meal is just the ticket.

Until we talk again…enjoy!

Leave a Reply

