Thoughts of a Foodie ~ It’s the end of the week…

It is the end of the week, and it is payday. You saw my slow steady “ick” of not feeling myself, and yesterday I didn’t have the gumption to post. Sorry about that!

So the end of the week is time to review the fridge. I had some buttery marinara and it is now in the freezer. There are 2 quart sized storage bags…inside a gallon freezer bag. Each of these is the right size for a pizza… or to add to a pasta dish. They are in storage bags so I could lay them flat to freeze and they take very little space in the freezer.

Also in the freezer now is soup. There are two healthy sized containers of chicken noodle soup. One is plenty for a meal for Barry, the other is smaller, so a perfect soup and sammie night size.

Do yourself a favor, never waste. Make it a ritual to check the fridge once a week. Pick a day that works for you. For me it is Friday. We generally choose that day as a “go out to eat” day, especially when it is payday. Then my thinking and planning kicks in over the weekend and I start the cycle.

Planning has so many benefits, but the best is that you won’t waste food. Planned leftovers fit food preparation into your busy life. Planned items also support you when, as I was this week, you are not at your best. It is good to know your plans will keep food at the ready with minimal effort, and will keep the others in your home well fed.

When I put the good food in the freezer, I assess my previous stash. I have beef lentil soup which I will pull out on Sunday so Barry can enjoy some next week!

So get up and go look in your fridge. Plan to save and use some of your leftovers for another day. You will always be glad you did.

MooseMoose is coming to visit next week. It is spring break and she is visiting us. I will be thinking and planning for her visit this week. Remembering she is vegetarian and remembering her favorite foods, I will plan meals that she enjoys. I also have good food in the freezer if that vegetarian meal is not Barry’s favorite.

Hope you have plans for some fun this weekend. And as always, folks… enjoy!

Leave a Reply

