Let’s Talk Cauliflower!

So I bought a fresh head of cauliflower and riced it on Friday to make my Cauliflower pizza crust. Additional note on that: I will bake it on parchment paper next time. The cauliflower is so moist that even on a non-stick pan and well greased, it had sticky spots. Later I thought, GEESH I should have used parchment paper!

Well, now I did say that I had a whole head of cauliflower and the recipe for one only used 1 cup of the riced goodness. I had read enough to be intrigued with trying it as a rice side dish and did so. Again, there is so much water in cauliflower that it can be cooked without adding any. I microwaved a small dish (about 1 cup) with salt and a tbsp of butter. Wow. Really like eating rice.

Next, I still had more so I thought, ok, let me use this up. I cooked the rest of the rice in butter, salt and pepper, and then added some milk when it was cooked down. All of that went into the Ninja and WOW~ I had cauliflower mash! Yum!!

I made three dishes from one head of riced cauliflower. All delicious and different. I am going to try using this new idea of riced cauliflower in my stuffed peppers next time I make them! Why not? Save on carbs and honestly, both rice and cauliflower take on the flavor of what they are cooked in so I am eager to see how that works!

cauliflower

 

Pick up a head of cauliflower on your next trip to the market and try these tasty treats! ENJOY!

2 thoughts on “Let’s Talk Cauliflower!

  1. My hubby told me I have to make the pizza crust after I told him about you making it. He didn’t believe me! LOL! Now I have to pick up a head of cauliflower and prove it to him!

Leave a Reply

