Thoughts of a Foodie ~ More planning and a recipe teaser

The end of a good week… and the holidays are that much closer. I was able to see my cousin from Virginia early in the week and her daughter and granddaughter too! My daughter, Courtney, and her fiance, Kenz, are here for a visit on their holiday journey. They will leave tomorrow and return Christmas Eve.

We had tasty and healthy meals and balanced that with making holiday treats. Remember that finding balance is very important. For me, enjoying one cookie is a big deal. For my husband, sitting and eating a plate of cookies with a glass of milk, or a cup of tea, is something he can do. You need to listen to your body and know what your limits are.

We have a week left to plan and I am excited about completing the tasks that will make Christmas week relaxing and fun! Gift wrapping, more baking, catching up on laundry, and doing my final fresh food shopping will keep me busy this week. Planning meals that are healthy in the meantime will be very important.

I am planning to make some more cookies today, if you can believe that. I will do my best to take photos and post later. There are only 6 ingredients in this recipe:

2 sticks (1 cup) unsalted butter, softened
1/2 cup confectioner’s sugar
2 teaspoons vanilla
1 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
1/2 cup dark cocoa powder
1 cup dark chocolate chips

So if double chocolate shortbread cookies sound good to you, go pick up these things and meet me back here later. We can make them together.

I love love love the holidays… I hope you do too. And every year I enjoy them more because of careful planning and healthy eating.

Now, go shopping. Catch you later to make a new cookie recipe. Enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

