Holiday Delights ~ Peanut butter cookies with a kiss!

So the black bean and quinoa burgers are a keeper.  Both Courtney and I enjoyed the sweet crunch of the red peppers so I think next time there will be more of them. And we both pondered the merit of putting shredded cheese the mix. Fontina cheese, of course. I have influenced her cheese favorites I believe! LOL

Today we had unexpected visitors ~ well, I knew, but not Moose and Kenz. My niece Jamie and her beautiful little girl, Kiya, came to see us! It was great to see them ~ especially since she is heading back to Virginia today.

The girls and I are going to make a pizza for dinner, making it an easy meal. So this afternoon I made peanut butter cookies with chocolate kisses in them. To be fair, the last pan we decided to use peanut butter cups.

You will need:

  • 1 cup shortening
  • 1 cup of creamy peanut butter
  • 1 cup brown sugar – packed
  • 1 cup white sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/4 cup milk
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 3 1/2 cups flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup white sugar for rolling
  • enough chocolate candy kisses for one on each cookies – unwrapped of course

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees.

Line two baking sheets with parchment paper.

Cream the shortening, peanut butter, brown sugar, and white sugar until smooth. Add in the eggs, one at a time. Beat until fully incorporated. Mix in the milk and vanilla.

Now most recipes have you mix the wet in one bowl and the dry in the other and mix them. I guess I am a rebel. I do measure carefully when I bake, but I don’t do this. If you feel better doing it, do so.

So next add the baking soda and salt, mixing it well. I add the flour in parts…. usually a cup at a time.

To make the cookies, I use my tablespoon measuring spoon. Take one at a time and roll it in your hands, then roll it in the sugar. Place them on the prepared baking sheet about 2 inches apart. My baking sheet easily accommodated 20 cookies at a time. This recipe makes 80 cookies if you stick to the tablespoon size!

Bake in the preheated 375 degree oven for 10 to 12 minutes. Remove from oven, and immediately press a chocolate kiss into each cookie. Allow to cool completely; the kiss will harden as it cools.

I must tell you that both Moose and Kenz were watching me put the first batch of kisses in and had these glazed looks. Courtney said, “OH! I always wondered how those kisses got in there and didn’t melt!” LOL

Thanks to Moose for the photo!

Mmmm......Cookies!

Mmmm……Cookies!

I am going to get back to enjoying my company! Give these a try! Enjoy!

One thought on “Holiday Delights ~ Peanut butter cookies with a kiss!

Leave a Reply

