Flavor Seeker ~ Black bean and quinoa burgers

I am making two dinners tonight. Moose and Kenz are on their way for a visit. There will be black bean and quinoa burgers. And I am making beef stew with red wine and green beans; an unusual addition to stew, but Barry’s favorite veggie. This is no imposition as I love to cook and love to see my family enjoy my food!

I started with the burgers… that is what I am sharing with you today!

Here is what you need:

  • 1 – 15 oz can black beans ~ be sure to rinse and drain them!!
  • 1/4 cup quinoa
  • 1/2 cup veggie broth (you can use water – see below*)
  • 1/2 cup bread crumbs
  • 1/4 cup minced bell pepper – I used red today
  • 2 tablespoons minced onion
  • 1 teaspoon garlic powder – or you can use fresh, but for this, the powder is better
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons paprika
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon hot sauce
  • 1 egg
  • olive oil for the pan

Open and rinse the beans first. They can drain well while you cook the quinoa. Now if you are like me, quinoa is never made in small amounts. I made a pot of quinoa and used what I needed. The rest is cooling to put away to eat later! * I also always use veggie broth for my quinoa but you can use water.

If you are only making enough for the burgers you put the 1/4 cup quinoa in 1/2 cup water. Bring to a boil and reduce to medium heat. Cook for 18 minutes, stirring occasionally. While that is cooking, mash the black beans with a fork leaving some whole black beans in a paste-like mixture.

Rough mash the beans!

Rough mash the beans!

When the quinoa is ready, mix the quinoa, bread crumbs, pepper, onion, garlic powder, paprika, salt, hot sauce, and egg into the black beans. Mix well.

Mixing the ingredients

Mixing the ingredients

Now since there is raw egg in this, you can’t taste a little to see if it is good, so make a small patty. Put it in a hot pan with olive oil. Cook 2-3 minutes per side. Making a test patty lets you decide if you need to add a little more of anything before you cook the rest.

Burger time

Mmmmm….. Lunch!

My test patty made a lovely lunch and was perfect as is. The rest of the batter is in the fridge for dinner later. This will allow it to stiffen and actually make better burger patties.  Moose will love these.

Off to start the stew, but I encourage you to try these yummy and nutritious burgers.

As always… enjoy!!

Leave a Reply

