Planning ahead . . . Planned leftovers and the Big Feast!

We won’t be home for Thanksgiving. We are the happy guests of Boyfriend’s dad, Jack, and his lady, Kay. Off to Rochester we go on Wednesday for the Big Feast Day!  There are plans to be made for laundry and packing, but more importantly ~ the food! 🙂

It is Monday and I will tell you that I have been mulling the idea of the meal for at least a week. There was correspondence between BF, Kay and me. Tammy is on that email list, but she backs away from the planning and defers to BF and me. Actually, after last Thanksgiving (evidence above!!), so does Kay! LOL

Mike and Tammy went to their lovely Farmer’s Market and bought the following:

  • 6 Pints of Brussels sprouts
  • 2 large red, 2 large white onions
  • 2 lbs of green beans
  • 1 huge head of broccoli
  • 1 quart of heavy cream
  • 2 large bunches of carrots (regular and heirloom)
  • 5 lbs of red potatoes
  • 6 sweet potatoes
  • 2 heads of garlic
  • 1 lb of locally roasted coffee (Cro-Magnon)
  • 2 medium and 1 massive butternut squash
  • Fresh Thyme
  • Lots of rosemary

This is actually a copy and paste of BF’s list. And then he wrote… “So I hope the entire eastern front is coming to dinner.” LOL!!! We are going to have a spectacular meal and many great leftovers. With all of these lovely flavors, we will have 3 turkeys (Jack loves the smokers and Kay puts one in the oven.), garlic and dill potatoes, roasted sweet potatoes, a plethora of lovely fresh veggies ~ steamed broccoli, roasted Brussels sprouts, green beans with almonds and onions, roasted root veggies, etc, ~ and I have no idea how, but dessert.

Before we leave the Catskills and head to Rochester on Wednesday I have some work to do. Last year I was a little crazy, but the beauty of my journey is this… I am learning to do things better! Planning is key. So I have the list ready of what I am bringing and what I am making. Last year I tried to make garlic dill potatoes and was surprised that there was no dill in her house. Silly me. I use so much dill I couldn’t imagine anyone who didn’t have it in theirs! Ha. So I will bring dill.

I am not convinced that is enough onions, so I am bringing more. I am going to bring bacon. Here is the trick, I will buy it and freeze it. On the trip up it will be safely cold and begin to thaw for morning! I am doing to same with bread. I am going to buy bread and freeze it today. On the trip up it will also defrost and be fresh and ready for eating.

So today I am going to the market to pick up the last few things I need. I am also bringing Wednesday’s dinner. I am going to make soup, salad, and bread. That discussion will continue tomorrow.  I will talk about the menu and how I will prepare it to carry and put it together in 10-15 minutes when we get there!

I am also making planned leftovers. I am going to pick up the makings for one of Barry’s favorite foods, mac and cheese with chicken and broccoli. I will make enough for today and tomorrow. Then I will freeze a couple of servings for when we return. I will eat the chicken and broccoli, but without the pasta. So I am not really making two meals.

Now you know I am not a baker, but there are a couple of things I am pretty good at making, so I will make and bring those… fruit cake cookies and chocolate chip cookie bars. Maybe apple bread too, but not sure.

So listen people, the message is this. Plan! Plan! Plan! Make sure you have thought out the meal itself and the meals around it. I am already planning meals for turkey leftovers… And plan something simple for dinner in the meantime so that part is easy.

I need to go shopping now. But tomorrow we will talk about a meal to go of chicken lemon soup, tarragon salad, and bread.  If you are interested in making the soup with me you will need: 6 – 8 cups chicken stock, parsley, 2 – 3 lemons, the rind of a chunk of Parmesan cheese, chicken (rotisserie if you can get it on sale), 1 bay leaf, 2 carrots, 1 cup orzo, salt. (optional: Shredded Romano cheese to sprinkle on top when serving.)

Make that list and make sure the day is not full of stress, but rather full of food, fun, and family! Enjoy!!

Leave a Reply

