Flavor Seeker ~ Black Bean Salsa

My family eats more salsa in the summer than seems rational! 😉 But then the tomatoes get less fabulous and salsa is no longer a constant in the fridge. It is sad, but from time to time I will still seek out the best tomatoes I can find just so I can have that delicious flavor.

I decided that there had to be a winter salsa I could enjoy with enough fresh ingredients to make it tasty and healthy. And the black bean is something I explored awhile back in a soup. It is, I think, a much neglected flavor that is high in protein and in general, a nutritious food (http://www.whfoods.com/genpage.php?tname=nutrientprofile&dbid=87) . Now don’t be mistaken, there is a carb content, but in moderation the benefits make it worth it.

So using the flavors I love in my summer tomato salsa, I made a delicious winter black bean salsa. And here goes:

Black Bean Salsa

  • 1 can black beans ~ rinse well and drain
  • 1 small or 1/2 large red onion ~ pre-soaked in water w/lime juice
  • 1/2 cup frozen corn
  • 1/2 sweet red pepper
  • 1 tsp lime
  • 1/2 tsp garlic
  • Kosher salt & pepper to taste
  • Also to taste: parsley, dill, and oregano

First, cut the red onion in half and place it in a shallow bowl of water with 2 tsp lime juice. This takes the harshness out. Drain and rinse the beans very well. Put them in a bowl. Dice a half of a red pepper and toss that in the bowl. Put the 1/2 cup or so of frozen corn in the bowl. Yes. Put it in frozen. It chills the salsa and it will be ready to eat by the time you are done mixing it. Dice up half of the red onion now and toss that in. Now it is time to add flavors…

Salt and pepper the mixture. Add olive oil. I have a dispenser and do 3 or 4 rounds with it. Always start easy. You can add, but you can’t take it out! Add the garlic and lime. Lastly, add a little of each of the following: parsley (about 1 tsp), oregano (a healthy pinch), and dill (again, a healthy pinch). You can use cilantro instead of parsley. I am not a fan. I think a little dill adds brightness. And oregano gives an unexpected little bite. But use flavors you like. Put some hot sauce in! Add whatever will make it delicious to you!

Now mix this thoroughly, but gently . . . don’t smash the beans! And taste a little, and if you wish, add a little of whatever flavor you like best.  Yum!

To serve: Make some pita chips or use endive leaves! Or you might want to use lovely butter lettuce leaves or even romaine. Or you may want to put it into warmed pitas with some halved cherry tomatoes and shredded cheese!

That will be my dinner tonight. Barry will be having a planned leftover of stuffed peppers. I put some extra filling in the freezer a couple of weeks ago and took it out today. I will prepare the two lovely green peppers I bought today, stuff them, and bake.

Don’t miss this simple and flavorful salsa! And as always . . . enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Flavor Seeker ~ Black Bean Salsa

Leave a Reply

