Flavor seeker ~ Roasted chick peas!

OK, after my comfort food indulgence it is time to go back to the lighter side. I have to remember balance. But I also have to remember I have a guy who can eat ANYTHING and never gain a pound or have high cholesterol. I made him chocolate chip cookie bars last night on a whim. He walked in the door, smelled them, looked at them, and went right back out to get milk. Cold milk and a warm chocolate chip cookie bar… or two. Barry can do that. And I am happy to provide. Me? No way!

In my quest for flavor I sometimes spend time perusing recipes. I am a recipe junkie . . . and then I usually find a few that are interesting and use the parts of each that I like. So I will either alter recipes I find or make one up. I was enjoying hummus the other day and wondered if chick peas would be as delicious roasted as the vegetables I love that way.

Guess what! They are! And one more time, here is how easy it is. You will need:

  • 1 large can chick peas
  • olive oil
  • kosher salt
  • ground black pepper
  • paprika

Drain and rinse the chick peas well. I put them in a bowl because I get better coverage of the oil and seasonings. Coat the beans with oil, salt, pepper, and paprika. Put them on a prepared sheet pan. I spray the pan with a spray oil. I also added an extra and liberal sprinkling of paprika.

Put the pan in a 400 degree oven for 20 minutes. I shook them twice during the roasting process just to be sure they were roasting evenly. Cool and enjoy!

If you like other flavors, do what I always encourage… change the recipe to your own taste! If you like more heat, use cumin. You like garlic? I am sure that would add extra tastiness with the paprika.

You can put these in an airtight container and refrigerate them to snack on later. Or you can put them into smaller containers to go. Whatever your choice, do try this tasty snack.

And, as always, enjoy!

3 thoughts on “Flavor seeker ~ Roasted chick peas!

  1. Reblogged this on Saltypalette Living and commented:
    I just finished this dish with an early lunch – only I added chopped fresh basil, a sliced red bell pepper and a small green tomato from the garden. This will be a recipe I will use over and over in different ways… Thank you neatnosh for the inspiration!

Leave a Reply

