Food is Love ~ The Ultimate Comfort Food Dinner!

Last night I made a dinner that was a knock out! I started to make Barry the keeper chicken noodle soup that he loves but I had an urge to change it up. So dinner became Chicken Pot Pie Soup. Now I didn’t make a pie crust top but the soup seemed to need a pie crust somewhere. I had seen a soup recipe that suggested actually baking a pie crust and braking it into pieces (like crackers) to actually put into the soup when serving. Then I saw a savory tart idea. And as I always do, I changed the recipe and made it my own.

So let me talk about the tart. It was oh-so-yummy!! When Barry asked me what a savory tart would be like, I said, “Remember the rustic apple pie? Well, take out the apple filling and put in cheese, potato, and caramelized onions.” YUM!!!!

So here is my Savory Potato and Onion Tart.

Ingredients:

  • pie crust
  • fontina cheese
  • one potato
  • one onion, caramelized beautifully!

I am not a baker. I am not afraid to admit that and when I need a pie crust, I buy the ready made Pillsbury crusts. So for this savory tart I did that. Take out one crust and unroll it. To make the tart cook properly, place it on parchment paper on your sheet pan. Shred about 4 oz. of cheese in the middle to make a lovely bed. I always reach for fontina, but there are other cheeses (really!?) so add your favorite, but stick to mild, soft, and gentle cheese. Take one potato and slice it very thin. Make it a small potato because once you slice it thin you really don’t need a lot! Cover the cheese with the slices. Over all of that, add the lovely caramelized onions.
   

When you have nicely tucked the crust around the bed of flavor, put it into a preheated 375 degree oven. It needs 30 – 35 minutes. I will say again… no two ovens are exactly the same. I checked mine in 30 minutes and decided it need more time to get golden brown. I added another 8 minutes to the timer. It was perfect!

Now for the Chicken Pot Pie Soup:

Ingredients:

  • olive oil
  • 1 carrot, diced
  • 2 celery stalks, diced
  • 1 large white or yellow onion, diced
  • 2 potatoes, peeled and cut into bite sized pieces
  • 2 boxes chicken stock
  • 1-1/2 chicken breasts, diced ~ I used a rotisserie chicken this time, it was on sale
  • 1/2 cup frozen peas
  • 1 tbsp parsley
  • 1 tbsp oregano
  • salt & pepper ~ to taste
  • roux: made from 2 tbsp butter/2 tbsp flour/1 cup cream

I began the soup the way I would any chicken soup. Put a few turns of olive oil around the soup pan over medium high heat. Add the diced carrot, onion, celery, and (this time) potatoes. Salt the veggies to flavor them and to help them begin to soften. Cook the veggies until they are soft and the onions translucent. Add the stock, peas, parsley, oregano and additional salt and pepper. A small pinch of pepper and a healthy pinch of salt to begin. Stir and taste a little… if you need to add a little you can, but you can’t take it out!

Turn up the heat and bring this to a boil. Reduce to simmer and add the diced chicken. Simmer at least 20 minutes. While you are waiting for the soup to simmer, make the roux. (I actually timed things so that the tart was in the oven at this time too.)

A roux is simple: Put even parts flour and butter in a saucepan. On medium heat, melt the butter into the flour. Add the cream. You can use milk for a roux, but in this case I wanted the extra creaminess. Now add a pinch of salt and a little pepper. I add a pinch of paprika and a pinch of nutmeg any time I make a roux. Whisk this until thick and smooth. I needed to add a little water to thin it just slightly, so adjust as you need to.

The roux should go into the soup when it is done. I don’t recommend pouring it all in at once, but putting it in slowly and stirring it in well. You are looking for a consistency that is creamier than soup, but not as thick as stew. I already decided that I would make Chicken Pot Pies in the near future. The recipe will be nearly the same!

Well, dinner was a success. And we have planned leftovers for tonight’s dinner. We will look forward to this meal again. The soup was scrumptious and the tart amazing. It was hard not to eat too much! I highly recommend this warm and comforting meal. More importantly, Barry does! The tart alone would be filling enough for dinner!

Enjoy! Enjoy! Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

