Flavors of Fall ~ Rustic Apple Pie

In the spirit of fall, Barry and I went out to an apple orchard and brought home a half bushel of apples. I love to make different recipes and include apples. Not all are desserts either. For example, I made fried apples with a chicken dinner last week.

Last night I made a new recipe. Barry, Mark, and Wayne were my guinea pigs for this endeavor. Happily, the recipe was dubbed a keeper.

I told you in a previous post that I found a Ree Drummond recipe and with changes, of course, I based my recipe on hers https://neatnosh.wordpress.com/2012/10/22/to-recipe-or-not-to-recipe-that-is-the-question/. It was so very easy to make and the results were yummy.

For two rustic apple pies you need:

  • 5 large yummy apples ~ mine are Rome
  • lemon juice ~ about 2 tbsp
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 2 tbsp flour
  • salt ~ about 1/4 tsp
  • a sprinkle of nutmeg
  • a bigger sprinkle of cinnamon! ~ 4 shakes
  • about 6 tsp butter ~ I always bake with unsalted
  • 2 pie crusts ~ I admit I am no good at making these, so I used store bought crusts

So here goes: Preheat the oven to 375 degrees.

Peel and slice the apples. I put the lemon juice on them as I peeled to keep them from browning. This worked beautifully. When the slicing is done, sprinkle on the white sugar, brown sugar, floursalt, nutmeg and cinnamon. Stir. This will begin to look and smell like pie filling quickly!

Next take out the crusts, and roll them open…. or roll out two circles if you are good at making your own! 😉 Place them on a prepared baking sheet (I use spray oil). Pour half of the filling on the center of each crust. Fold up the sides around the apple filling.

Put a few pats of the butter on each pie and place in the oven for 30- 40 minutes. Remember no two ovens are alike so check them after 30 minutes. See how the crust is doing and decide!

You will have two lovely pies when you are done!

Mark said, “The apple to crust ratio is perfect!” And Barry brought out the whipped cream to adorn the top! I think that eaten warm with a bit of vanilla ice cream would be yummy too! Or if you wanted to get fancy, a little caramel drizzle would be divine!

I am not a baker, but this recipe makes it easy! Give it a try. Remember, it makes two pies, so share one with a friend!

Enjoy!!

One thought on “Flavors of Fall ~ Rustic Apple Pie

Leave a Reply

