Flavors of Fall ~ Butternut Squash

The flavors of fall are many and delicious and on the top of the YUMMY list is the butternut squash! I bought a lovely one at Trader Joe’s and it is calling me. Let me say that I hesitated buying these delights because I was intimidated to chop it up. After watching Boyfriend several times, I was ready.

I warn you that butternut squash is very dense, so it takes muscle to chop one up. And keep those fingers out of the way!!! So let’s begin.

Cut off the top and bottom.

Cut the squash in half.

Peel the outer skin off.

Remove the seeds. A spoon works great. Then start chopping it up.

When it is all chopped up, put the pieces on a greased cookie sheet.

Now you can go sweet or savory here. You can sprinkle with salt and pepper and a bit of oregano, or you can use brown sugar. Today I used brown sugar. But – a note – I still sprinkled with a dash of salt first!

Place in a 400 degree oven.

After 20 minutes, they are getting nice and soft.

Back in for 20 minutes more. I have told you many times to trust your nose. You will begin to smell the butternut squash in this next 20 minute bake.

After 40 minutes, they are soft and lovely, but I like them roasty so back they go for 20 more – until lightly golden brown.

Finally! Roasted goodness!

A total of 60 minutes in a 400 degree oven. The brown sugar makes a soft and slightly sweet treat. Salt, pepper, and oregano will make them more savory. Now you can eat these as a side dish just like this. They will be perfect with my pork chops tonight. You can puree them, much like you do mashed cauliflower. You can also make the most amazing soup. THAT is Boyfriend’s specialty so I will coax him to do a guest spot and show you how.

Buy a butternut squash and try it. You won’t be sorry! And as always . . . ENJOY!

3 thoughts on “Flavors of Fall ~ Butternut Squash

  1. I had some just last week. I added garlic and dill and mashed it after roasting it. So yummy! My hubby, son, and I loved it. My daughter, not so much, but she doesn’t like a lot of veggies. She’s picky when it comes to veggies.

Leave a Reply

