Let’s talk Black Beans!

It is a rainy day and soup sounds like a great idea. While I have my planned leftovers for dinner, I am also making a pot of soup today. A cup of soup with the meal tonight will be lovely, then tomorrow the soup will be dinner. I think homemade soups are almost always better the next day.

I see that many of my fellow bloggers are making black bean chili. My hubby likes his “keeper” chili, so while I am not saying I won’t try other recipes, I decided to look at options with the delicious, nutritious, and high in protein, black bean http://www.whfoods.com/genpage.php?tname=nutrientprofile&dbid=87.  After looking at many recipes for chilis and soups, I created my own black bean and quinoa vegetable soup.

While it is simmering, let me tell you how to make it.

Black bean and quinoa vegetable soup

  • Olive oil
  • Onion ~ one large
  • Carrots ~ 2 chopped
  • Celery ~ 2 stalks chopped
  • Garlic powder
  • Paprika 1 tsp ~ If you like bold spice, use cayenne here, but beware and go gently!
  • Chili powder 2 tsp
  • Fresh ground pepper
  • Vegetable stock ~ 4 cups = approx one box
  • 2 15 oz. cans black beans ~ BE SURE TO DRAIN AND RINSE WELL!
  • 1 cup fresh frozen corn
  • 1 15 oz. can crushed tomatoes
  • 1 small can diced tomatoes
  • ¼ cup quinoa

Chop the onions, carrots, celery, and sauté in olive oil until tender.

Add chili powder, paprika, and garlic powder, and cook for about 1 minute, stirring continuously. Add the stock, 1 -1/2 cans of beans, the corn, and the pepper. Bring the pot to a boil.

Take the remainder of the beans and the small can of diced tomatoes and puree them. I use a Ninja, but you can use your blender or food processor. Add this to the pot. Add the quinoa.

Reduce the heat to low, cover the pot and simmer for an hour. This will cook the quinoa, and make sure the celery and carrots are tender.

Enjoy with a garnish of sour cream, shredded cheese, and green onions. Make some homemade pita chips for crunch.

I am also planning to make black bean veggie burgers, but remember we are just two of us. So plan and manage for the number of people in your household. There is such a thing as too much of a good thing!

A word to the carb watcher like me: read the nutrition facts on black beans. They are quite healthy and high in protein, but they also have considerable carb content. Eat in moderation!

So explore the black bean. Try this soup, or one of the many yummy chili recipes out there. I will be back with my veggie burger recipe another day. Until then, eat fresh, eat healthy and as always, ENJOY!

3 thoughts on “Let’s talk Black Beans!

Leave a Reply

