Flavors of Fall ~ Kale Chips!

I have said it before, but it bears repeating. Seasonal foods are fresh, nutritious, and delicious! There are a number of sites that allow you to keep abreast of what produce is in season in your area. In mine, kale is still in season until November.

Kale is a leafy green that is in the Brassica family, cousin to cabbage, collards, and my beloved Brussels sprouts. As always, I read what I could about kale http://www.whfoods.com/genpage.php?tname=foodspice&dbid=38  before embarking on figuring out how to prepare and eat it.

Kale can be used in recipes much like spinach. It can be eaten as a side dish, in a casserole, or in combination with other flavors over pasta or quinoa. By far my favorite way to eat kale is to make crispy and delicious kale chips. These tasty treats give you the nutrition that kale provides in the form of a crispy, salty snack.

These treats will make you beg for more. And they are a healthy and low calorie alternative to potato chips and so many other snacks I work to avoid. The best part is that they couldn’t be easier to make! There are many recipes out there and feel free to try them. My preparation is foolproof and yummy every time.

Here goes: Preheat your oven to 300 degrees. Cut off the bottom and wash your kale. lay them out on a paper towel or a clean kitchen towel to dry.

   

You DO NOT want to eat the stems. They are woody and tough and generally unappealing. So you need to remove them. You can do this one of two ways. You can lay them on a cutting board, and cut away the stem with a paring knife. Honestly, the easier way is to place the stem between your first two fingers and gently slide and pull the leaves away from the stem.

Pull any excess stem away by just pinching and pulling. (9 out of 10 times it will pull away clean.)

Now get them ready for the oven. I hate messy clean up so I line my pans with foil and put cooking racks on top. Rip the leaves into chip size. Make sure you leave them bigger than you would want them to be because they will shrink!

I used to put the kale right on the pan and drizzle oil on them and mix them around with my hands. I ended up with messy hands, too much oil in some places, and my chips did not come out evenly. Now I use spray oil on the kale… 4 seconds on a whole pan. This makes lovely, light, and crispy chips every time.

Add salt (I use kosher salt) and pepper (or lemon pepper).  Go lightly with the salt and pepper! The chips will shrink and the salt will intensify. There will suddenly be too much for the smaller chips.

Place them in the 300 degree oven for 20 minutes. Take them out and let them cool. Try one and you will not be able to stop!!!

Time to go enjoy my snack. Give these treats a try. You won’t be sorry. Do it now while kale is in season and these will be the healthiest, tastiest snacks you have ever had!

{crunch crunch crunch}

Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Flavors of Fall ~ Kale Chips!

  1. I saw a recipe for these and wondered if they were any good or not. Guess I’m going to have to try them now that I know someone who has tried them! Thank you!

Leave a Reply

